June 14, 2021 8:26 AM

Beginning Monday, June 14, 2021, the MSU Veterinary Medical Center will allow clients into the building with patients. Find details here.

Any patient presented to the MSU Small Animal Emergency Service will undergo an initial medical evaluation to determine if urgent care is needed, and whether hospitalization is warranted. The MSU Small Animal Emergency Service will only hospitalize patients that our clinicians consider to be unstable or to have life-threatening conditions.

Contact Information

Email: arnoczky@cvm.msu.edu

Phone: 517-353-8964

Fax: 517-353-8980

Veterinary Medical Center - South Building (Wings F - G)
784 Wilson RD, Room G387
East Lansing, MI 48824


  • DVM, Ohio State University , 1972
  • Diplomate American College of Veterinary Surgeons

Research Interests

  • Comparative Orthopedics, Ligament and Tendon Pathology, Meniscal Healing
PubMed Research
Click Here

In 1992 Dr. Steven Arnoczky was named the first Wade O. Brinker Endowed Professor of Surgery in the College of Veterinary Medicine. He also holds appointments in the Colleges of Human Medicine and Osteopathic Medicine at MSU.

In recognition of his lasting contributions to sports medicine, Arnoczky was inducted into the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine's Hall of Fame (AOSSM) in 2014. He is the second non-physician to receive this honor.

Among his numerous honors and awards, Dr. Arnoczky has received the Kappa Delta Award for Outstanding Orthopaedic Research from the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons and the Neer Award from the American Shoulder and Elbow Surgeons. He is a four-time recipient of the Cabaud Award for Soft Tissue Research, a two-time winner of the O’Donoghue Award for Sports Medicine Research, and the 2012 recipient of the T. David Sisk Award for best original research; all bestowed by the AOSSM. In 2014 the Orthopaedic Research Society selected him as an inaugural member of the Pioneers of Innovation program. Dr Arnoczky has also received the Distinguished Faculty Award from Michigan State University and the Distinguished Alumnus Award from The Ohio State University.