Alum Achievements
Lisa Becton (MS, Food Safety ’10)

Becton was named the 2023 American Association of Swine Veterinarians Technical Services & Allied Industry Veterinarian of the Year.

Bruce Francke (DVM ’91)

Francke donated some of his paintings to a charity auction at AVMA 2023, and along with his fellow veterinary professional artists, raised more than $25,000 for the Street Dog Coalition. He has already received an invitation to participate in the auction again at AVMA 2024. See the paintings at https://cvm.msu.edu/vetschool-tails/alum-dr-bruce-francke- donates-animal-paintings-to-avma-charity-auction..

Lisa C. Gerity (DVM ’96)

On April 1, 2022, Gerity accepted the position of Medical Director for Greater Annapolis Veterinary Hospital..

Jennifer Haeger (DVM ’02)

In 2021, Haeger became a master beekeeper through Cornell University.

Karen Hyman Cantoe (DVM ’89)

Hyman is the owner of the largest private veterinary practice in New York City. She has practiced for more than 30 years with her medical group.

Robyn Limberg (DVM ’94)

Limberg was the first deaf student to graduate from the MSU College of Veterinary Medicine. This year, she was honored by the MSU Resource Center for Persons with Disabilities at their Annual Alumni Awards as an outstanding alum.

Michael O’Bryant (DVM ’73)

O’Bryant was recently honored at the Michigan State Capitol and recognized by state representative Graham Filler for his years of service. O’Bryant practices at the Ovid-Elsie Animal Clinic, where he cares for both large and small animals.

Imre Pagi (DVM ’63)

Pagi has worked as a veterinarian for 60 years and continues to work part-time. He served as a military veterinarian for two and a half of those years.

Ruby Perry (Former resident in veterinary radiology and section chief of radiology from ’88 – ’07))

Perry was recognized at AVMA 2023 during the President’s Reception for her unwavering commitment to advancing diversity, equity, and inclusion. Perry co-chaired the landmark Commission for a Diverse, Equitable, and Inclusive Veterinary Profession, formed by the AVMA and AAVMC in late 2020 to lay the groundwork for improving DEI throughout the veterinary profession. She currently serves as the dean of the Tuskegee University College of Veterinary Medicine.

Gheorghe Stoica (PhD ’84)

Stoica is celebrating 27 years of working at Texas A&M University as a full professor in the Department of Veterinary Pathobiology.

Samuel Tate (DVM ’67) Tate received the 2023 Paul F. Landis Veterinarian of the Year Award, which he was presented at the Virginia Veterinary Conference. This award is given to an individual who has made significant contributions to veterinary medicine and the creation of a strong local and state veterinary association. He also recently published a book, Vet Squared: Memoir of a VETerinarian & Air Force VETeran, which details his life in the veterinary profession and in the US Air Force Veterinary Corps.