Posted March 23, 2021
Top row (left to right): Alexa Acevedo, Christie Donahue, Patrick Crannell, Jessica Zenchak Petersen, Sarah Thomas. Bottom row (left to right): Shalini Shashidhara, Amanda Lechnar, Monika Dziuba, Dallie Flower, Kimberly Guzmán

Ten students at the MSU College of Veterinary Medicine have been selected to receive the 2021 Zoetis Veterinary Student Scholars Award, including DVM Class of 2022 members Christie Donahue, Jessica Zenchak Petersen, Amanda Lechnar, Dallie Flower, and Patrick Crannell; and DVM Class of 2023 members Monika Dziuba, Shalini Shashidhara, Alexa Acevedo, Sarah Thomas, and Kimberly Guzmán.

The award is granted to second- and third-year DVM students who “are already making outstanding contributions to the veterinary profession and to the overall well-being and medical care of animals.” This year, 1,200 applications were submitted for the award, which is sponsored by animal health company Zoetis and the Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges. Each scholarship award is worth $2,000.

“We are incredibly proud of our students,” said Hilda Mejia Abreu, associate dean for Admissions, Student Life, and Inclusivity. “They’ve accomplished much in their time at the College, and we look forward to how they will continue to advance the field in the years to come.”