August 10, 2020 9:01 AM

As of June 29, MSU's Small Animal Emergency and Critical Care Medicine (ECCM) operations have modified:

All walk-in patients will be evaluated. Life-threatening cases will be admitted. Cases evaluated as stable will be referred to the client’s primary care veterinarian, other facilities, or other services within the MSU Hospital, if possible. Monday–Friday, from 8:00 a.m.–1:00 p.m., the ECCM Service will operate as a “referral only” service. However, walk-in patients with critical illness or immediately life-threatening problems will always receive care. Referring veterinarians should call 517-353-5420 prior to sending any patients to MSU. View the Hospital's full web page.

Posted July 08, 2014
Featuring Steven Arnoczky

Wade O. Brinker Endowed Professor of Surgery recognized for lasting contributions to sports medicine.

Steven P. Arnoczky, DVM, leading sports medicine researcher from the Michigan State University College of Veterinary Medicine, will be inducted into the American Orthopaedic Society for Sports Medicine's (AOSSM) Hall of Fame at its annual meeting in Seattle, Washington on Friday, July 11, 2014.

The AOSSM established the Hall of Fame in 2001 to honor members of the orthopaedic sports medicine community who have made original and significant contributions to the specialty. Induction is the highest honor given to a society member. There are currently 58 members from 11 countries in the Hall of Fame.

Only the second non-physician to receive this honor, Arnoczky is being recognized by the AOSSM for basic science contributions to the advancement of ligament reconstruction of the knee and meniscal repair and replacement.

"This extraordinary honor for Dr. Arnoczky reflects the human medical community's recognition of his contributions to orthopaedic medicine," says John Baker, dean of the College of Veterinary Medicine. "It speaks to his accomplishments in basic science and comparative research, and his contributions reflect well on the College's leadership in the comparative medicine philosophy."

Arnoczky is the director of the College's Laboratory for Comparative Orthopaedic Research and has conducted basic science orthopaedic research for 40 years. In 1992 he was named the first Wade O. Brinker Endowed Professor of Surgery at the College, and he holds appointments in the Colleges of Human Medicine and Osteopathic Medicine at MSU.

Among Arnoczky's honors and awards is the prestigious Kappa Delta Award for Outstanding Orthopaedic Research from the American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons and the Neer Award from the American Shoulder and Elbow Surgeons. He is a four-time recipient of the Cabaud Award for Soft Tissue Research, a two-time winner of the O'Donoghue Award for Sports Medicine Research, and the 2012 recipient of the T. David Sisk Award for best original research; all from the AOSSM. Arnoczky was the 2010 recipient of Markowitz Award from the Academy of Surgical Research and the 2013 recipient of the Werner Muller International Knee Prize. He has also received the Distinguished Faculty Award from MSU and the Distinguished Alumnus Award from The Ohio State University.

Arnoczky has also published more than 185 scientific articles and 150 scientific abstracts, and has written 78 book chapters. He has co-edited three books on basic science topics related to sports medicine. He has given more than 800 invited research lectures around the world.

July 8, 2014