Posted June 27, 2024
Featuring Brian Petroff

We are happy to announce that Dr. Brian Petroff, DVM, PhD, professor in the Department of Pathobiology and Diagnostic Investigation, will serve as the MSU Veterinary Diagnostic Laboratory (VDL) interim director effective August 1. 

Petroff joined the MSU VDL in October 2014 as the Endocrinology section chief and served in that role until July 1, 2023. Since that time, he has been able to dedicate more time to research while continuing to provide diagnostic service in the Endocrinology Section. While serving as interim director, he will maintain his service appointment in Endocrinology. 

Petroff joined MSU after 13 years at the Kansas University Medical Center, where his research focused on endocrinology and prevention of endocrine cancers.  He was a program leader in cancer prevention at the KU Cancer Center as the University of Kansas was awarded status as an NCI-designated cancer center.  But his career in animal health began in the field—as a herdsman at a dairy farm in Ohio. He earned his BS, DVM, and PhD at the Ohio State University and spent his early clinical career as a mixed-animal veterinarian.

During his time at MSU, Petroff has represented the VDL at national and international veterinary conferences, engaged in collaborative research activities, and contributed to the educational mission of the College through teaching and mentorship. He also served as the faculty excellence advocate for CVM and on multiple committees in the Department of Pathobiology and Diagnostic Investigation. In his role as interim director of the VDL, he will provide leadership and administrative oversight for Laboratory activities. 

A national search for a permanent VDL director is underway. Dr. Kim Dodd starts as dean on August 1, but will remain VDL director until September 1, allowing time to work with Petroff on a seamless transition. She also will continue to be actively engaged in NAHLN and in managing the response to the ongoing HPAI outbreak until those responsibilities are transitioned to the next permanent director.