Posted November 18, 2019

Two veterinary ophthalmologists from the MSU College of Veterinary Medicine were highlighted at the American College of Veterinary Ophthalmologists’ (ACVO) annual conference on November 6-9 in Maui.

Dr. Simon Petersen-Jones, Donald R. Meyers and William E. Dunlap Endowed Chair in Canine Health for the MSU College of Veterinary Medicine, was awarded Honorary Membership by the ACVO. According to ACVO’s policies and procedures, “Honorary Member status may be conferred upon an individual who has achieved distinction in comparative ophthalmology or who has made significant contributions to veterinary ophthalmology.”

“I feel very flattered by this honor and even more for being nominated by my generous colleagues for it,” says Petersen-Jones.

In addition, Dr. András Komáromy, professor for the MSU College of Veterinary Medicine, was elected president of ACVO for one year. The ACVO is a Recognized Veterinary Specialty Organization™ of the American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA). ACVO and its more than 500 members promote excellence in veterinary ophthalmology through advanced training, certification, research, and education.

“It is a great honor for me to be elected by my peers,” says Komáromy.

For more information about ACVO, visit their website.